Skip to main content

Manage data after adding a new device

Applicable to Client versions -

Windows - v7.1.0 & above | macOS - v6.5.1, 7.10 & above | Linux - v5.9.x & above

Overview

As an inSync user, if your administrator issues you an additional device, your administrator can choose to add the new device to your inSync account for backup. In these scenarios, the new device can be procured for you with all your data intact. Your administrator can now remotely add a device for your inSync account and then ship the new device to you with all your data restored on it.

After you receive the new device, inSync automatically:

  • Restores the most recent data to the new device post-activation, including the data that was backed up on the old device while the new replacement device was in transit.

  • Trigger system settings restores.

  • Moves the data stored at the temporary location to the relevant paths and folders as required.

Move data from temporarily restored data location to actual locations

For Active Directory (AD) users

If you are an AD user, you will receive a new device with all your data (except for system settings) already restored at a temporary location on the device. In such a case, you need to:

  1. Login to the new device using your AD credentials.

  2. System Settings restore will start if they are backed up from the old device.

  3. inSync Client will restore user profile data from the temporary location to the appropriate locations on the new device.

  4. Any data that is not moved will continue to reside at the temporary location and will not be deleted.

Restored data location directories

All the data is stored at the following temporary locations. You can retrieve and map the data to its relevant destination paths and folders.

Restored data location directory for Windows

Windows: C:\ProgramData\Druva\inSync4\device_refresh_data

Restored data location directory for Mac

Mac: /Library/Application Support/inSync/device_refresh_data

Quick folders

are stored in #{{ Quick_Configs}} folder, like this:

device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/#{{Quick_Configs}}/Desktop
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/#{{Quick_Configs}}/Pictures
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/#{{Quick_Configs}}/Home/some_folder

Wildcards

There are five types of wildcards:

%homedir%/%home%/%userprofile%: these will be stored here: device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/#{{Wildcard_Shares}} %appdata%: this will be saved in device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/#{{Appdata_Wildcard}}

If the wildcard share path does not start with the wildcard itself, then it is restored at the original location.
%username%: this will be restored on the destination device at the original location from where it was backed up

“All Drives” or all users’ homes or the specific user’s home

If these were configured as an absolute path on the source device, then the home folders will be restored like these:

device_refresh_data/#{{User_Profiles}}/User Namedevice_refresh_data/#{{User_Profiles}}/some_other_user_on_source_machine

📝 Note
​Only the current user’s profile in this folder will be moved and not the other profiles present in this folder.


Drive/Volume not present

If a volume or drive, for example E drive, which was present and backed up on the old device is not present on the new device then it is restored at the following location:

device_refresh_data/#{{E}}

All other

fsets/files will be stored at their original locations.

Did this answer your question?