Skip to main content
Manage data after remote device replacement
Updated over a week ago

Applicable to Client versions -

Windows - v7.1.0 & above | macOS - v6.5.1, 7.1.0 & above | Linux - v5.9.x & above

Overview

As an inSync user, if you want to change your existing device or upgrade it to the latest software versions or if your device needs to be replaced due to damage, loss, or theft, a new device can be procured for you with all your data intact. Your administrator can now remotely do a device replacement for your new device and ship the new device to you with all your data restored on it.

After you receive the replacement device, inSync automatically:

  • Restores the most recent data to the new device post-activation, including the data that was backed up on the old device while the new replacement device was in transit.

  • Triggers system settings.

  • Moves the data stored at the temporary location to the relevant paths and folders as required.

Move data from temporarily restored data location to actual locations

For Active Directory (AD) users

If you are an AD user, you will receive a new device with all your data (except for system settings data), already restored at a temporary location on the device. In such a case, you need to:

  1. Login to the new device using your AD credentials.

  2. System settings data restore will start if they are backed up from the old device.

  3. inSync Client will restore user profile data from the temporary location to the appropriate locations on the new device.

  4. Any data that is not moved will continue to reside at the temporary location and will not be deleted.

For non-Active Directory (AD) users

If you are a non-AD user, you will receive the new device with all your data and system settings already restored for you by inSync Client. In such a case, you need to:

  1. Login to the new device using credentials provided by the administrator and verify all the data and system settings have been moved and restored to the appropriate destination.

  2. In case some data still resides at the temporary location, you can either create the missing destinations and then move the data by copying the data from the temporary location to the missing destination or let the data continue to reside at the temporary location. There will be no loss of data.


📝 Note
For AD users on both Windows and Mac, user permissions and ownership will be restored as they were set on the source device. For non-AD users, the ownership continues to remain with the users.


After all the data has been moved to the identified destination, the temporary restore location contains only those files and folders that could not be moved either due to lack of permissions on the destination folder or no appropriate destination folder found.

Restored data location directories

All the data is stored at the following temporary locations. You can retrieve and map the data to its relevant destination paths and folders.

Restored data location directory for Windows

Windows: C:\ProgramData\Druva\inSync4\device_refresh_data

Restored data location directory for Mac

Mac: /Library/Application Support/inSync/device_refresh_data

Quick folders

are stored in ##{{ Quick_Configs}} folder, like this:

device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/##{{Quick_Configs}}/Desktop
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/##{{Quick_Configs}}/Pictures
device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/##{{Quick_Configs}}/Home/some_folder

Wildcards

There are five types of wildcards:

%homedir%/%home%/%userprofile%: these will be stored here: device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/##{{Wildcard_Shares}} %appdata%: this will be saved in device_refresh_data/<email ID of the user>/##{{Appdata_Wildcard}}

If the wildcard share path does not start with the wildcard itself, then it is restored at the original location.
%username%: this will be restored on the destination device at the original location from where it was backed up

“All Drives” or all users’ homes or the specific user’s home

If these were configured as an absolute path on the source device, then the home folders will be restored like these:

device_refresh_data/##{{User_Profiles}}/User Namedevice_refresh_data/##{{User_Profiles}}/some_other_user_on_source_machine

📝 Note
Only the current user’s profile in this folder will be moved and not the other profiles present in this folder.


Drive/Volume not present

If a volume or drive, for example, E drive, which was present and backed up on the old device, is not present on the new device, then it is restored at the following location:

device_refresh_data/##{{E}}

All other

fsets/files will be stored at their original locations.

Did this answer your question?