Skip to main content
All CollectionsGoogle WorkspaceProtect Google Workspace data
How to enable, disable or delete Google Workspace data?
How to enable, disable or delete Google Workspace data?
Updated over a week ago

This page provides information on how to enable, disable or delete Google Workspace data.

Overview

As an inSync Cloud administrator, you can enable, disable, or delete Google Workspace data for Gmail and Google Drive as and when necessary.

Enable, Disable or Delete Gmail data

To enable Gmail:

  1. Select the Gmail tab and select the Gmail data that you want to enable.

  2. Click Enable. A confirmation dialog appears. Click Yes.

To disable Gmail:

  1. Select the Gmail tab and select the Gmail data that you want to disable.

  2. Click Disable. A confirmation dialog appears. Click Yes.

To delete Gmail:


πŸ“ Note

You cannot delete Gmail data if the user is enabled with Data Lock.


  1. Select the Gmail tab and select the Gmail data that you want to delete.

  2. From the three dots menu, click Delete.

  3. On the confirmation window, specify the reason for deletion (the reason is mandatory with a character limit between 10-150). The reason for deletion will be captured in the Admin Audit trail for auditing purposes.

  4. Click Delete. The Google Workspace data will be deleted temporarily. You can rollback the deleted Google Workspace device within a configurable rollback window. After the rollback window expires, the Google Workspace device will be deleted permanently. See Rollback Actions for details.


    ❗ Important

    To use Rollback Actions, you need the Security Essentials license. Contact Support to obtain the license. Currently, this feature is available only for Druva Public Cloud customers.


    Rollback Considerations:

    You cannot rollback Google Workspace if:

  • The user or profile is already deleted. To rollback, you need to rollback the deleted user or profile first.

  • The user's profile with which the device is associated is changed. To roll back this Google Workspace, you need to change the user's profile to the previous one.

  • The active license limit of the user with which the Google Workspace device is associated has reached the threshold. Contact Support to procure additional licenses.

Delete Snapshots

You can delete maximum 20 snapshots at a time. Snapshots in the data locked user profile cannot be deleted.

  1. Select the Gmail and click the user of which you want to delete the snapshot.

  2. Go to the Backups tab, select the snapshot(s) that you want to delete and then click the Delete Snapshot button.

  3. Enter the reason for deletion and click Delete. (The reason is mandatory with a character limit between 10-150. The reason for deletion will be captured in the Admin Audit trail for auditing purposes.)
    ​

    delete Snapshot.png

Snapshot(s) deleted successfully message displays.


πŸ“ Notes

  • The Gmail snapshot(s) will be deleted temporarily. You can rollback the deleted Gmail snapshot(s) within a configurable rollback window. After the rollback window expires, the Gmail snapshot(s) will be deleted permanently. See Rollback Actions for details.

  • To use Rollback Actions, you need the Security Essentials license. Contact Support to obtain the license. Currently, this feature is available only for Druva Public Cloud customers.


Enable, Disable or Delete Google Drive data

To enable Google Drive:

  1. Select the Google Drive tab and select the Google Drive data you want to enable.

  2. Click Enable. A confirmation dialog appears. Click Yes.

To disable Google Drive:

  1. Select the Google Drive tab and select the Google Drive data you want to disable.

  2. Click Disable. A confirmation dialog appears. Click Yes.

To delete Google Drive:


πŸ“ Note

You cannot delete Google Drive data if the user is enabled with Data Lock.


  1. Select the Google Drive tab and select the Google Drive data you want to delete.

  2. From the three dots menu, click Delete.

  3. On the confirmation window, specify the reason for deletion (the reason is mandatory with a character limit between 10-150). The reason for deletion will be captured in the Admin Audit trail for auditing purposes.

  4. Click Delete.

The Google Drive ​​​​​​data will be deleted temporarily. You can rollback the deleted Google Drive device within a configurable rollback window. After the rollback window expires, the Google Drive device will be deleted permanently. See Rollback Actions for details.


❗ Important

To use Rollback Actions, you need the Security Essentials license. Contact Support to obtain the license. Currently, this feature is available only for Druva Public Cloud customers.


Rollback Considerations:

You cannot rollback Google Drive if:

  • The user or profile is already deleted. To rollback, you need to rollback the deleted user or profile first.

  • The user's profile with which the device is associated is changed. To roll back this Google Drive ​​​you need to change the user's profile to the previous one.

  • The active license limit of the user with which the Google Drive device is associated has reached the threshold. Contact Support to procure additional licenses.

Delete Snapshots

You can delete maximum 20 snapshots at a time. Snapshots in the data locked user profile cannot be deleted.

  1. Select Google Drive and click the user of which you want to delete the snapshot.

  2. Go to the Backups tab, select the snapshot(s) that you want to delete and then click the Delete Snapshot button.

  3. Enter the reason for deletion and click Delete. (The reason is mandatory with a character limit between 10-150. The reason for deletion will be captured in the Admin Audit trail for auditing purposes.)
    ​

    delete Snapshot.png

Snapshot(s) deleted successfully message displays.


πŸ“ Notes

  • The Google Drive snapshot(s) will be deleted temporarily. You can rollback the deleted Google Drive snapshot(s) within a configurable rollback window. After the rollback window expires, the Google Drive snapshot(s) will be deleted permanently. See Rollback Actions for details.

  • To use Rollback Actions, you need the Security Essentials license. Contact Support to obtain the license. Currently, this feature is available only for Druva Public Cloud customers.


Did this answer your question?