Skip to main content
Allow users to update system resource settings for backups
Updated over a week ago

License editions: To understand the applicable license editions, see Plans & Pricing.

Overview

You can allow users to modify the bandwidth utilization and CPU priority for the backup process. If you provide permissions to the users, they can change the bandwidth usage per their requirements. The inSync Client consumes the least of the bandwidth that is configured by the administrator or the user. To view the actual bandwidth utilization, see the inSync log files.


๐Ÿ“ Note
โ€‹You can manage the resource consumption for inSync through profiles. You cannot do this on an individual user level.


Bandwidth Consumption Scenarios

Scenario 1

Consider a scenario where the Administrator sets the maximum bandwidth as 100% and the user sets the maximum bandwidth as 50%. While performing the backup, the inSync Client calculates the available bandwidth as 1 Mbps. In this scenario, the inSync Client uses only 50% of the available bandwidth, which is equivalent to 500 Kbps.

Scenario 2

Consider a scenario where the Administrator sets the maximum bandwidth as 50% and the user sets the maximum bandwidth as 100%. While performing the backup, the inSync Client calculates the available bandwidth as 1 Mbps.

In this scenario, even if the user has set the bandwidth to 100%, the inSync Client uses the least of the bandwidth that is configured by the administrator or the user, which is 50%. The inSync Client uses only 50% of the available bandwidth, which is equivalent to 500 Kbps.

Procedure

To allow users to update system resource settings for backups

  1. On the Endpoints console, click Profiles.

  2. Select the profile for which you want to configure folders for backup.

  3. Go to the Edit option at the top right, and click the Endpoints tab from the dropdown. The Edit Profile window appears.

  4. Under the User Settings tab,go to the Allow users to change following settings area.

  5. In the Backup Resource section,select the Modify backup resources check box and click Save.

Did this answer your question?