Skip to main content
All CollectionsKnowledge BaseEndpoint and SaaS AppsFAQs and Reference Reads - Endpoint and SaaS Apps
How does Allow Admin Access to User Data setting impact user profile changes
How does Allow Admin Access to User Data setting impact user profile changes
Updated over a week ago

This article applies to:

  • OS: All supported operating system

  • Product edition: inSync Cloud and On-Premise

Overview

The Allow admin access to user data setting on inSync Client controls whether the administrator can access the user data. When this setting is enabled from the inSync Management Console, inSync administrators can download user's backed up data.

This article describes the impact that Allow admin access to user data setting has while switching a user from one profile to another.

For the sake of simplicity, Profile-1 is considered as old/original profile and Profile-2 is considered as new profile in this article.

User profile changes impacted by Allow admin access to user data setting

The impact is explained with the help of various scenarios below.

Scenario-1: User is moved from Profile-1 to Profile-2 with the profile settings as below

Profile

Allow admin access to user data setting

Profile-1

Enabled

Profile-2

Enabled

Impact: User migration from Profile-1 to Profile-2 completes seamlessly on inSync Management Console without any warnings or error messages. inSync administrator can access and download the user data even after the profile change.

Scenario-2: User is moved from Profile-1 to Profile-2 with the profile settings as below

Profile

Allow admin access to user data setting

Profile-1

Enabled

Profile-2

Disabled

Impact: User migration from Profile-1 to Profile-2 completes seamlessly on inSync Management Console without any warnings or error messages. inSync administrator cannot access and download the user data in the changed profile (Profile-2). If the administrator tires to access the user's data assigned with Profile-2, the below warning is displayed.

DataPrivacySet.png

Scenario-3: User is moved from Profile-1 to Profile-2 with the profile settings as below

Profile

Allow admin access to user data setting

Profile-1

Disabled

Profile-2

Enabled

Impact: In this migration, the administrators of Profile-2 can get an unintended access to the user's data if the user migrates to the profile. To prevent this breach of data privacy inSync does not allow the user migration from Profile-1 to Profile-2. The below error is displayed.

ProfilleChangeStopped.png

To enable the data access and download, administrators can request the user to disable the Data Privacy setting from the inSync Client.

DataPrivacy.png

💡 Tip

The Data Privacy setting is active on the inSync Client only when the inSync administrator has made it available to the inSync user from the profile settings.


Scenario-4: User is moved from Profile-1 to Profile-2 with the profile settings as below

Profile

Allow admin access to user data setting

Profile-1

Disabled

Profile-2

Disabled

Impact: Since there is no breach of user's data privacy, migration from Profile-1 to Profile-2 completes seamlessly on inSync Management Console without any warnings or error messages. inSync administrator cannot access and download the user data after the profile change.

Scenario-5: inSync Client is installed on a new device and user is assigned with a profile with Allow admin access to user data disabled

Impact: After inSync Client activation, user can access data on the new device. User can login to inSync web to see the data from both the devices. inSync administrator, however, cannot access the user data as the Allow admin access to user data setting is disabled on the client.

See also

Did this answer your question?