Skip to main content
Enable Data Lock

Enable datalock for immutable recovery points.

Updated over a week ago

Enterprise Workloads Editions: ❌ Business | βœ… Enterprise | βœ… Elite


πŸ“ Note


​Important The Data Lock feature is available to Enterprise and Elite editions.


The Data Lock option can be enabled at the backup policy level. You can enable Data Lock either when creating a new backup policy or editing an existing backup policy.

What happens when you enable Data Lock?

Once you apply Data Lock to the backup policy, you cannot:

  • Disable the Data Lock setting in the backup policy.

  • Delete the recovery points, backup sets, and backup policy.

  • Edit the retention period in the backup policy.

  • Associate another backup policy to the Data Lock-enabled backup set.
    ​

    Immutability.gif

Considerations

  • You cannot change the retention period after applying Data Lock to your backup policy. But you will be able to change the other options like backup schedule in the Data Lock-enabled backup policy.

  • You cannot manually delete the backup policy, backup set, and recovery points in the backup set once you apply Data Lock to the backup policy or backup set.

  • Once you enable Data Lock, it will apply to historical and future recovery points.

  • Data Lock does not apply to curated or golden recovery points as they are created using the existing recovery point.

  • Data Lock does not apply to historical soft-deleted backup sets.

  • Data Lock-enabled recovery points can be marked as quarantine recovery points.

  • If you are using CloudCache in your data center, the recovery points are immutable only when the relevant data has been completely synced from the CloudCache to the Cloud.

  • For a backup set, you can change the associated backup policy to a different backup policy type. The following table displays these policy changes:

Current backup policy type

Target backup policy type

Possible

Data Lock-disabled

Data Lock-disabled

Yes

Data Lock-disabled

Data Lock-enabled

Yes

Data Lock-enabled

Data Lock-enabled

No

Data Lock-enabled

Data Lock-disabled

No

Enabling Data Lock while creating a new backup policy


❗ Important

Enabling Data Lock is an irreversible action. Data Lock will apply to historical and future recovery points.


  1. Log in to the Management Console.

  2. Select your Organization if Organizations are enabled.

  3. Click Protect and select the required workload.

  4. In the left pane, select Backup Policies.
    ​


    πŸ“ Note
    ​
    ​For Oracle Phoenix Backup Store, select Phoenix Backup Stores in the left pane and click Create Backup Mount.


  5. On the Backup Policies page, select New Backup Policy.
    ​

    NewBackupPolicy.png

  6. Enter the Name and Description of the backup policy.

  7. Click Next and specify the backup schedule.

  8. Click Next, specify the retention details, and toggle the EnableData Lock option.
    ​

    New_BackupPolicy_DL.png

  9. In the Enable Data Lock dialog box, read the conditions and proceed accordingly.
    ​

    Enable_DL_New.png

  10. Click Next and then click Finish.
    The backup policy is created with the enabled Data Lock.

Enabling Data Lock for an existing backup policy


❗ Important

Enabling Data Lock is an irreversible action. Data Lock will apply to historical and future recovery points.


  1. Log in to the Management Console.

  2. Select your Organization if Organizations are enabled.

  3. Click Protect and select the required workload.

  4. In the left pane, select Backup Policies.


    πŸ“ Note
    ​
    ​For Oracle Phoenix Backup Store, select Backup Mounts in the left pane and then select the required backup mount to edit.


  5. On the Backup Policies page, click the backup policy name in the Policy Name column.

  6. On the Summary page, in the Retention section, click Edit.

  7. Toggle the Enable Data Lock option.

  8. In the Enable Data Lock dialog box, read the conditions and proceed accordingly.

  9. Click Save.

The Data Lock column displays whether it is enabled or disabled for each backup policy on the Backup Policies page.

In addition, you will see that the Data Lock is enabled in the Summary tab on the Backup Policies page.


πŸ“ Note
​
​When you try to change the backup policy, a green shield icon is displayed next to the Data Lock-enabled backup policy.


Did this answer your question?